30 Day Gaming Challenge: Day 24

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395b

I apologise for the delay in getting this out. I was not in the right place yesterday to write a post. So I’m writing it today and you’ll get a double post.

Day 24: Favourite Classic Game

I wanted to go with Pokémon Red and Blue (Red in my particular case), but Thero has pretty much the same view I do on it.

So instead, I’m going to write about a classic PC game that I recently picked up again. Age of Empires II.

Age of Empires II was my first step into strategy games, and also  one of the few I took into my love of gaming. I wasn’t very good at it, and never played more than a few of the first levels. But there was something about watching a civilisation develop (and hopefully flourish). I wanted to keep trying.

These days I can get a bit further than I used to. I get a little bored of it – there are much more advanced games out there now. But it remains a favourite because it still plays brilliantly for a game of its time, and it still stands as a classic game, even considered as one having had a great impact on the genre.

The next post – a game in my future.

