30 Day Gaming Challenge: Day 13

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395b

Today is the day we find out which game I keep replaying over and over again. Five times to be exact.

Well, I don’t tend to count the number of times I play a game, but in all likelihood, it’s this game that probably has the highest number of plays.

Day 13: A game you’ve played more than five times

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

The Elder Scrolls series has several entries, most of which I’ve played once or twice. Oblivion was the first one in which I started several new games, experimenting with different builds, different characters and with role-playing. It’s also where I got my name.

Khinjarsi was, and still is, my first character in Oblivion, and all other Elder Scrolls games. I use the name elsewhere, as you can guess, but it originated from a Khajiit Dark Brotherhood Assassin with a hoarding problem.

1358329-aiqcrossbows2hv

Everyone’s favourite Khajiit, M’aiq the Liar From: https://static.giantbomb.com/uploads/original/1/15693/1358329-aiqcrossbows2hv.png

I’ve built mages, warriors, marksmen, assassins and played as alchemists, monks and pilgrims, across different platforms and hundreds of hours. It hit the fantasy RPG fan in me, and hit it hard with fantastic atmosphere, music and some great stories. Yes the graphics and voice acting left a lot to be desired, but there was nothing that could beat wandering into the forests of Cyrodiil. I compared notes and discoveries with friends, and dove deep into the lore. I owe a lot to Oblivion.

Tomorrow get a peek into where gaming bleeds into my real life.

 

