30 Day Gaming Challenge: Day 27

 

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395bJust three more posts to put up with reader! Today, a quick one. Of all the amazing scenes in gaming, I have to narrow it down and pick my favourite. And today is one you have to play for yourself to understand why it’s my favourite.

Day 27 – Most epic scene ever.

I could have gone down the CGI, FMV route. I could have picked a cutscene from any one of the hundreds of games out there. Instead, I’ve picked one you play a part in. One that the developer is fond of recreating.

Your release from prison in:

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

I love this short scene. The same idea features in most of Bethesda’s RPGs, but my first was in Oblivion, and it still gives me the same shivers it did the first time.

It is your first step out of prison and into the world of Cyrodiil, my first in Tamriel, and (given the age of the game now), it was breath-taking. The sunlight, the soundtrack and the atmosphere all combined at that moment to wow you, blind you and stun you. No other game at the time had me stood in one spot for ages, just looking at the scenery, watching mudcrabs and butterflies, and soaking up the sun. I have yet to find another game that gives me the same feeling. Fallout 3 came a very close second, but the quiet yet stirring soundtrack of Oblivion just pipped it.

If you haven’t played this scene, or the game at all, I urge you to get a copy and ignore the pudding faces, lacklustre voice acting, and the far too short role of Patrick Stewart. Play for this moment.

As we reach hump day of the final week, you don’t get three guesses for my favourite developer.

 

