30 Day Gaming Challenge: Day 21

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395b

I’ve finally caught up with the challenge on the hottest day of the year in the UK (so far). My swimming pool hasn’t turned up yet (one of those inflatable ones, don’t worry), so I’m sat in front of my fan writing this. So you can listen to me tell a story.

Day 21:  Game with the best story.

For this one I went simple. The best stories have the simplest beginnings, but I think this one does well when the lyrics to the TV show sum it up: (sing along)

“I wanna be the very best
Like no one ever was
To catch them is my real test
To train them is my cause
5

I will travel across the land
Searching far and wide
Each Pokemon to understand
The power that’s inside
4

Pokemon, gotta catch ’em all
Its you and me
I know it’s my destiny
Pokemon, oh, you’re my best friend
In a world we must defend
Pokemon, gotta catch ’em all
A heart so true
Our courage will pull us through

You teach me and I’ll teach you
Pokemon, gotta catch ’em all
Gotta catch ’em all”

pokc3a9mon_box_art_-_red_version

Pokemon. I’m going with Red and Blue here, but I guess even the newest have this plot line at their core. You go on a journey to be the best. To beat them all. To Catch ’em all. What ever else happens along the way are distractions. When you set out on your Pokemon journey, the ultimate goal is to beat the Elite Four, or to catch them all. Or both. Yes there are other things to do along the way, and ‘side quests’ (if you can call them that – here I am talking about beating Team Rocket, which you have to do to get the final badge, spoiler alert). are little more than means to an end. Sure, go ahead and collect all the critters in the Safari Zone. You set that goal, not the story.

pokemon-red-screenshot-680x3921-322x268

To sum up the Pokemon story: Boy/girl gets pokemon on 10th birthday. Takes said pokemon on an adventure to find more and be the best. Said boy/girl does that. The End.

Tomorrow, disappointing sequels. I’ll try to avoid the big red/green/blue possibility.

 

