30 Day Challenge: Day 17

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395b

As I play catch up with this challenge, we return to looking at some of my favourite aspects in gaming. Today we take a look at part 1 of what feels like a two parter.

Day 17: Favourite antagonist

My favourite antagonists generally feel somewhat human – some aspect of them I can identify with. ¬†Monsters generally don’t so anything for me; they are nothing more than beasts that need putting down. But occasionally, there is the odd antagonist that I love for their oddness, their quirks or their madness.

My pick for my favourite is Dr N.Gin from the Crash Bandicoot series .

Although not technically the main antagonist of the franchise (that honour goes to Dr Neo Cortex), N.Gin makes an appearance in almost all of the Crash games. But what makes him a favourite? Let’s start with the obvious: his rocket head.

That came about as an accident in his previous employment, when a missile he was making developed a fault and it lodged in his bonce. Then he managed to fix it so instead of blowing up, it became a life support. It kept him alive, but he lost his sanity. The missile now flashes menacingly if N.Gin is stressed or angry.

As far as evil plotting goes, he isn’t hugely successful. In fact, in some of the games he even recognises that Crash (despite being a bandicoot) is too strong to defeat. He is better at kart racing than he is at being a bad guy.

I love the madness of Crash Bandicoot. Very little makes any sense, but I still adore most of the series.

Tomorrow, the opposite of today.

 

