30 Days of Gaming: Day 10 & 11

23d2bdb3-ae78-40a4-b4e1-fbd17ce2395b

Today Completionists, you get a double length post. My activities in the sun yesterday left me too tired and hot to sit and bore you with my gaming opinions. Instead you get them today.

Day 10: Best Gameplay

Defining “gameplay” is hard enough. Picking the game with the best gameplay is even harder. Whether a game has good gameplay is tricky to pin down, because we all view games differently. What I might view as intuitive and immersive you might find unplayable. Today I’m going with a cult classic for my gameplay choice. It’s not a game that needs an introduction really, but does a fantastic job at making you feel like you are making progress, within the game universe and keeps controls and interaction to a minimum. So, what is my pick for best gameplay?

Portal.

Portal is a fantastic game. Apart from the cake meme. That got old a long time ago.

Portal starts simple. You are an unnamed person in a bedroom. You walk through some rooms assisted by random noises and an all seeing assistant until you find a gun. A portal gun. With that gun, you can create doorways (the titular portals) and move around space in a way that will hurt that poor brain of yours by the end of the game.

One button controls the ‘in’ portal. One button controls the ‘out’ portal. And, with the ability to move, sneak, run and jump, that’s all there is to Portal. Create some doors, move a few things and solve some puzzles.

Simple controls, a silent protagonist and the ability to create ever more complex puzzles that don’t need much explanation make for a fantastic game that has very few competitors. It’s been so popular that there was a sequel (Portal 2) that could afford to expand the story and gameplay, and Portal now gets used to teach kids and people all sorts of stuff.

I think Portal is a brilliant game. I have such love for it years after playing it, and I think having it schools and as a teaching aide is a good sign for it having some of the best gameplay in gaming.

 

Day 11: Gaming System of Choice

The age old debate of the internet. Are you a member of the PC Master Race?

My answer is thus:

Yes, I have a PC. Yes, it can run a fair few games. It’s not specifically built for gaming, but runs enough for me to be entertained. Do I consider it my gaming system of choice? I wish I could. Instead, that honour goes to the PS4 and the PS Vita. Together, these two systems allow me to access the newer games that my PC can’t run without me having to get a whole new PC or build one. With the Vita I can take a smaller selection of games with me that play at the quality I expect of my PS4, and with the range of games that I enjoy.

I would love a PC that ran modded Bethesda games, but as it currently stands, I don’t have one. The PS4 is the next best option.

 

Tomorrow we should be back on a standard schedule, with Day 12: A game everyone should play.

